Structure of the Local Governing Committee 

From 1st September 2024, Hopescourt School will have a Local Governing Committee (LGC) reporting to the Bourne Education Trust (BET) Board, and will follow the agreed BET scheme of delegation.  Full roles and responsibilities for LGC members will be determined in September, but the membership is currently as follows:

Jane Vaughan Chair of the LGC & Safeguarding Governor
Alex Burrows Headteacher (ex-officio)
Karen Thomas Governor (Safeguarding)
Rob Thompson Governor
Vacancy Parent Governor
Vacancy  Parent Governor
Vacancy Governor
Vacancy Governor

Recruitment of the parent governors will take place as soon as possible after the beginning of the first school year.  Further details of this will be shared with the Hopescourt School parent community during the Autumn term 2024.

The Chair of the LGC can be contacted via

Shadow Governing Board (SGB)

While Hopescourt School has been in development, the BET Board has appointed a shadow governing body (SGB) of five governors with the specific skills necessary to support the project team in the period before the school opens. The SGB has set the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school and has provided challenge to the project team’s capital, educational and financial plans.  

The current governors on the SGB for Hopescourt School are as follows: 

Jane Vaughan Chair of the Shadow Governing Body
Alex Burrows Headteacher, Hopescourt School
Bethan Emerson Shadow Governing Body member
James Newman Shadow Governing Body member
Rob Thompson Shadow Governing Body member
Karen Thomas Shadow Governing Body member

The SGB are supported by a core team: Justin Price, Executive Headteacher at Freemantles School, Kate Sanders and Rob Isaac, Joint Chief Operating Officers at the Bourne Education Trust (BET), and Yola Wilkins, BET’s Head of Business Development.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now